Washing Machine Desk

What’s with the title?

Well folks, the washing machine desk is a rolling unit with drawers and a sink, about 3′ x 7′, which I use daily moving from classroom to classroom every period of my teaching day. I am a proud NYU graduate and arguably the hardest working first-year, 7th grade science teacher east of the Mississippi River. I have got this insatiable, indomitable, idealist dream to find the right combination of engaging lessons, reward systems, work ethic & balanced-lifestyle to run the “perfect classroom”.

I am nearing the end of my first year and I feel like Obama’s presidential victory pales in comparison to what I’ve achieved. It was a long-haul but I made it.

So why does anyone care about, what my students call, the washing-machine? Because I’ve self-proclaimed it the official mascot of all “2nd rate” teachers in the NYCDOE. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a bitter first-year teacher. Yes, I can come off as a bit facetious and sardonic at times but I have a right to. I’m affecting change and I’m damn proud of it. I work my tail off inside and outside the classroom and I need my outlet. The type of outlet that often doesn’t exist within the school walls because of a fear that “he doesn’t care about the kids”. But it’s the simple fact that I manage my stress in such ways that allows me to go back into that classroom and laugh off those frustrations. Little of this is novel to you, but there’s a lack of support for these types of humor-based, coping-mechanisms and this blog is all about creating that forum. That along with new insights, complaints, problems, crazy wacked-out beliefs and dreams relating to a better tomorrow concerning the classroom environment, all in the name of affecting change through happier, more satisfied, and as a result, more affective teachers.

Cheers,

Asher

About davidlandau

David Landau is a graduate of NYU Steinhardt and a science educator since 2007. His interests and booking musical entertainment. His favorite musical performers are Asher www.asherlaub.com and Lindsey Stirling www.lindseystirling.com

Posted on July 5, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

